Scór 2015

The parish final of Scór na bPáistí was held in Birdhill Hall on Jan 25th and provided good competition and entertainment.  The following were winners:
Figure and Set Dancing - Aine O'Gorman, Sarah Hewitt, Edel O'Brien, Nadine Stokes, Aoife Kirby, Ciara Connolly, Marie O'Brien and Sorcha Kirby.

Scór na bPáistí Set Dancers

Sean Nós Dancing - Shauna Pearson.
Solo Singing - Sorcha Kirby.
Recitation - Molly O'Hora.
Instrumental Music - Allison McKeogh, Ciara Connolly, Niall Duffy, Aine O'Gorman and Sarah Hewitt. Ballad Group - Edel O'Brien, Sorcha Kirby, Aoife Kirby, Mia Kissane and Marie O'Brien.
Novelty Act - Clara Collins, Aisling O'Gorman, Shauna Pearson, Kevin O'Brien, Damien O'Brien, Aaron Pearson and Molly O'Hora.

Novelty Act group

The Battle of the Schools Quiz competition was won by the Newport Boys NS for the third year in a row. John J Ryan, Stephen Coffey and Conor Shanahan were selected to represent the Club in the Area Final.
All of the above participated in the North Semi-Final in Newport on Feb 8th when all except the Solo Singer and Recitation qualified for the North Final.
The Quiz, Ballad Group and Set Dancing reps took the honours in the North Final held in the newly revamped Scouts Hall in Nenagh and qualified for the Co Final. Niall Duffy joined the Quiz team for the county final where they finished third. The Novelty Act also went forward to the Co Final in Cashel on 1st March and were placed 2nd. The Ballad Group were declared winners, maintaining Newport's great record in this category

Newport Ballad Group county winners in Scór na bPáistí
March 2015


Quiz Team at the Co Final

Senior Scór
For the first time in many years, Newport  had representatives in all categories for the County Final of Senior Scor which was held in Borrisoleigh on 7th March.
The following were the participants, numbering 32 in all:
Figure Dancing:    Therese Tuohy, Maresa Floyd, Ciara O'Sullivan, Aoifa Moloney, Laura O'Toole, Marie Claire Tuohy, Aisling O'Sullivan and Aoibheann Floyd.
Set Dancing:   Joe Floyd, Nora Coffey, Noel Galvin, Niamh Floyd, Anthony Floyd, Bernie Flynn, Dinny Ryan and Siobhain O'Gorman
Instrumental Music:  Aine O'Malley, Ruairi Floyd, Louise Ryan, Niamh Floyd and Brian McAuliffe
Solo Song:  Aoibheann Floyd
Ballad Group:  Teresa Galvin, Fiona Ryan, Marie Floyd, Lorna Floyd and Conor Floyd.
Recitation:  Lil O'Grady
Léiriú Stairiúil:  Tom McCabe, James Collins, Lil O'Grady, Mary Ryan, John O'Neill, Tommy Collins and Gavin Ryan
The Ballad Group and Instrumental Musicians continued the club's great record by winning their respective county titles. They got through the Munster semi-final stage in Cappamore and recorded a historic double for the club by winning 2 Munster titles in Ovens, Co Cork.  Despite a brilliant performance at the City West in Dublin, the Ballad Group were unsuccessful in their quest for All Ireland honours, but the musicians claimed  the first national Scór title for Newport to the great acclaim of a large band of supporters.
Trophy presentation by Aogán Ó'Ferrrghaíl and Liam Ó'Laocha to the Newport Instrumental Music group following their All Ireland victory.

Munster champions:
Newport Instrumental Music group, with Seosaimhín Ní Chathail, Oifigeach Chultúir an Chontae.

Munster champions:
Newport Ballad Group, with Seosaimhín Ní Chathail, Oifigeach Chultúir an Chontae.