Home‎ > ‎2017 News‎ > ‎

30th January

posted 30 Jan 2017, 04:22 by Denis Floyd

Registration Night:
Registration fees for 2017 are now due and there will be a registration night in the club rooms at Lacken Park on Monday 13
th February between 7pm and 9 pm.
Fees: Adult players €50; student and juveniles €40; Non-playing adult €25;
Family Membership: to include one adult and any number of their children up to 18 years €100.
Weekly lotto entry plus County draw for the year and membership for one adult €200.

There was a full house in Birdhill Hall for the Newport Parish final of Scór na bPáistí 2017. Children from the all the schools took part. Those who came 1
st and 2nd in their categories will go on to represent the club at the area final in Portroe hall on Sunday Feb 12th.
The successful participants were as follows;

Figure dancing:  Alice Duhig, Niamh Coffey, Michelle Tuohy, and Brianna Butler

Solo singing:  Aoife Mellerick and Aoife O Gorman

Recitation:  Deirdre Mc Glinchy,  Brian McCabe


Keith Hogan, Sarah Fitzpatrick, Caragh Flynn, Michael Hewitt, Emma Clifford (Group 1)

Eve Berry, Kevin O Brien, Damien O Brien, Roisin Ryan, Stephen McCormack (Group 2)

Ballad Group:

Brian Tobin, Michael Hewitt, Keith Hogan, James Tobin, and Daniel Ryan (Group 1)

Ava O Malley, Eimear Raddie, Aoife Mellerick, Kate Finucane (Group 2)

Novelty Act:

Aaron Pearson, Shauna Pearson, Aoibheann Collins, Ashling O Gorman, Mollie O Hora,

Kevin O Brien, Damien O Brien, Robyn McNamara

Set dancing: Emma Clifford, Sarah Floyd, Caragh Flynn, Ailish Byrne, Ava O Malley, Claire Coffey, Orla Coffey, Alannah Murphy.

Quiz:  Group 1; Dara Kennedy, Kevin O Brien, James Tobin, and Brian Tobin

Group 2; Clara Collins, Aaron Pearson, Damien O Brien, and Darragh Gavin

Many thanks to our sponsor for the night Hugh Sweeney. Well done to all who took part and best of luck to all who represent the club at the area final.


Dinner Dance: Celebrating our County title win at the dinner dance on the 25th February at the Lakeside Hotel, where medals will be presented to our winning teams of 2016.The tickets are €35 and are available from members of the committee. This promises to be a great night so get in early to book your ticket and avoid disappointment.
You can book tickets from Padraig Tobin, Majella Coffey, Martin Kennedy, and Mary Bourke. Email :
secretary.newport.tipperary@gaa.ie or from pro.newport.tipperary@gaa.ie or call Mary 087-9784805. Bus from Newport and Birdhill.

National Club Draw: Please support this club fundraising initiative from Croke Park Excellent prizes again this year. All funds raised stay in the club and we will also have local draw for tickets sold in the club. Tickets €10 each available from committee members.